MINUTES SUMNER COUNTY BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS AUGUST 26, 2013

The Board of County Commissioners of Sumner County, Tennessee met in special called session on Monday, August 26, 2013, in the Commission Chambers of the Sumner County Administration Building in Gallatin, Tennessee at 6:00 p.m. Present and presiding was the Chairman Merrol Hyde. Also present were the County Clerk Bill Kemp and County Law Director Leah Dennen and the following Commissioners to wit:

Mike Akins	Ben Harris	Baker Ring
Paul Decker	Chris Hughes	David Satterfield
Paul D. Freels	Merrol N. Hyde	Jo Skidmore
Frank E. Freels	David Kimbrough	Jerry F. Stone
Billy Geminden	Trisha LeMarbre	Paige Brown
Paul Goode	Joe C. Matthews	Moe Taylor
Steve Graves	Kirk Moser	Jim Vaughn
Michael Guthrie	Bob Pospisil	Shawn Utley

Having a duly constituted quorum, the meeting was opened in due process by Sheriff Sonny Weatherford. Chairman Hyde noted that with twenty-four members seated, a simple majority would be by thirteen votes; and that matters requiring a two-thirds vote would be by sixteen votes during this session.

The Invocation was led by Commissioner Baker Ring.

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by the County Clerk, Bill Kemp.

Chairman Hyde directed the Clerk to read the following notice into the record:

NOTICE OF SPECIAL ELECTION AND SPECIAL CALLED MEETING

TO: ALL MEMBERS OF THE SUMNER COUNTY BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

I, Bill Kemp, County Clerk, do hereby give notice to all members of the Sumner County Board of County Commissioners that the County Executive, Anthony Holt, has called a special called meeting of this body to consider the following:

Pursuant to the Tennessee Constitution as well as the Tennessee Code Annotated Section 5-5-111, notice is hereby given that on **Monday**, **August 26**, **2013**, **at approximately 6:00 p.m.** (local time), the Sumner County Board of

MINUTE BOOK NINETEEN AUGUST 26, 2013

County Commissioners shall assemble in the Commission chambers of the Sumner County Administration Building, 355 North Belvedere Drive, Gallatin, Sumner County, Tennessee, with respect to filling the vacancy in the Sumner County School Board for the Fifth District created by the resignation of Shannon Dunn.

The purpose of the special meeting is to consider, deliberate, and possibly vote on a person to serve as the interim School Board member for the Fifth District until the remaining term is filled as required by state statutory and constitutional requirements.

This special election will be held during a special called meeting of this Body on the aforesaid date.

Voters of Sumner County are invited to submit names for consideration of appointment to this office. Persons interested in the position are asked to submit a resume or qualifications to the Office of the County Clerk, Sumner County Administration Building, 355 North Belvedere Drive, Room 111, Gallatin, Tennessee, 37066 by Monday, August 26, 2013, 12:00 noon (local time) or attend the aforesaid 6:00 p.m. meeting and express interest to a member of the Sumner County Legislative Body.

The position must be filled according to all applicable state statutes, rules, and regulations.

Anyone having an interest, desiring to comment or ask questions concerning the above referenced issue is invited to attend this meeting.

THIS NOTICE EXECUTED AND DATED THIS 15th day of August 2013.

Dill (<u> </u>
Bill Kemp, Sumner County Clerk	

RECOGNITION OF THE PUBLIC

Chairman Hyde opened the floor to allow the public to speak concerning any matter on the agenda.

Those in favor of candidate Leslie Schell were as follows:

Wes Duenkel of 321 Buffalo Run in Goodlettsville
Zach Young of 1805 Placid Grove Lane in Goodlettsville
Sibyl Reagan of 144 Saranac Trail in Hendersonville
Leslie Davis of 1105 Newmans Trail in Hendersonville
Amy Lafayette of 1003 Flaxton Street in Hendersonville
Steven Puckett of 228 Sanders Ferry Road Apt A-21 in Hendersonville
Sarah Underhill of 131 Chipwood Drive in Hendersonville
Aimee Vance of 363 Sunset Island Trail in Gallatin

Those in favor of candidate Janet Arnold were as follows:

Eric Stamper of 1010 Strathmore Way in Hendersonville

The two candidates, Leslie Schell of 1558 Brinkley Branch Road in Hendersonville and Janet Arnold of 208 Buffalo Run in Goodlettsville spoke before the Commission. Mrs. Schell presented a petition to be filed of those in support of her nomination.

MINUTE BOOK NINETEEN AUGUST 26, 2013

With no one else wishing to speak, recognition of the public was closed.

Chairman Hyde called for any other nominees for the Fifth District Board of Education vacancy other than the two candidates, Janet Arnold and Leslie Schell, who submitted resumes prior to the special called meeting. Hearing none, he declared nominations ceased.

Chairman Hyde further explained that the Janet Arnold would be represented by the green button and Leslie Schell would be represented by the white button.

The electronic vote was recorded in the following manner:

Akins	Υ	Taylor	Υ	Geminden	Υ
Graves	Υ	Satterfield	Υ	F. Freels	Υ
Matthews	Υ	Harris	Α	Ring	Α
Brown	Α	Vaughn	Υ	Utley	Α
Moser	Υ	Decker	Α	Hyde	Υ
Hughes	Α	Kimbrough	Α	Goode	Α
Skidmore	Υ	P. Freels	Υ	Stone	Υ
Guthrie	Α	Pospisil	Υ	LeMarbre	Α

ELECTION ARNOLD: 14 SCHELL: 10 07:23 PM

Chairman Hyde declared Mrs. Arnold elected to the Fifth District Board of Education position by the body.

ADJOURNMENT

Chairman Hyde declared the Commission meeting adjourned at 7:25 p.m. upon motion of Commissioner Skidmore, seconded by Commissioner Pospisil.

BILL KEMP, CLERK	MERROL HYDE, CHAIRMAN
Prepared by Maria A. Savage Approved on	